Catching up.

I knew this would happen eventually. That I would kind of run out of steam for a bit with the blog. Sorry for the 2 week break , it does mean there is a lot to say.

I did six performances of “Extreme…” , one at the Leicester Comedy Festival and five at the Soho Theatre. The emotional energy that is used up getting psyched up for the show , and doing everything you can to promote it can be quite overwhelming at times. But I was fortunate enough to have decent sales , really nice crowds , and friends in on all of those shows. I am genuinely humbled by the support shown by so many people.

As for the show itself , it was written for August 2010 , and i feel it is coming to its natural conclusion , not least with the recent news that more Britons may feel at home with the politics of the BNP than I had previously thought. I still have one more performance during the Glasgow Comedy Festival in April , but I know that I should be using that show to break in new material for this year’s show.

I think ticket sales may have been helped by the good fortune to do the News Quiz twice in quick succession. I often think that one off appearances are not enough these days to cement you in anyone’s subconscious , so I was grateful for a second bite of the cherry.

I also had a nice review in the Guardian.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2011/feb/25/paul-sinha-review

It is a fair review on what was a hot and tiring night. And I certainly think the criticisms represent valid food for thought. I must say though that the show was never intended to be vitriolic. The poster photo of me in a tea shop was a deliberate antithesis of whatever “extreme anti-white vitriol” is meant to signify.

I know I am not alone in being annoyed by the next thing. But I just don’t understand why any reviewer would feel the need to be quoting punchlines in a review. I am not promising amazing edge of the seat twists in my show , but the reaction to a punchline can only be lessened if someone has read the punchline already. My Scooby Doo joke about the Danish cartoon protests in 2006 had to be dropped from my set for 2 years after it got taken without my permission , wrongly reworded and published across cyberspace. I remember a piece written by Brian Logan in which he defended the practice , and said that if comedians are so precious about their jokes they shouldnt whore them off to newspaper puff pieces. Firstly , I am not one of those comedians who does that – which is why the Scooby Doo thing annoyed me. And secondly the difference in that case is that a comedian is giving up a joke that he/she has chosen to give up.

The two punchlines quoted are both very important ones in terms of the energy of the show. Luckily they both did well on Friday/Saturday night. But it is a curious practice to quote punchlines , and i know a lot of comedians who are rightly very angry when it happens to them.

Right , I’ve caught up now xx

About Paul Sinha

Trundling along, quizzing,joking and watching a lot of sport.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching up.

  1. Pingback: Brian Logan on punchline spoilers | ABC Art Gallery

  2. Barry Hercules says:

    The fact that Logan thinks it is okay to trample on punchlines in his reviews shows such a lack of understanding of the basic mechanics of stand up comedy that it seriously calls into question his ability to review the craft at all.

Leave a Reply

